Low Belt Testing Cycles

Testing for High White Belt

White belt students will ALL start with this information - regardless of testing cycle information

Low Belt Testing for Cycle 1


Poomsae Taegeuk Il Jang -- Heaven

(South, Father) First Taegeuk is the beginning of all Poomsaes. The associated trigram represents Yang (heaven, light), therefore, this Poomsae should be performed with the greatness of Heaven.

Low Belt Testing for Cycle 2


Poomsae Taegeuk Ee Jang -- Joy

​The second aspect of Taeguek is the principle Tae. Tae is Joyfulness. Its form represents the state of mind which is serene and gentle yet firm within, The state from which true virtue smiles. Tae is not silent but bubbling with joy. This second form, representing joyfulness, consists of movements that are made softly yet firmly with control. The form emphasizes movements which teach balance and proper stances.

Low Belt Testing for Cycle 3


Poomsae Taegeuk Sam Jang -- Fire

​The third aspect of Taeguek is the principle Ri. Ri symbolizes fire and sun, and their characteristics of warmth, enthusiasm, and hope. The actions of Ri should be performed with variety and passion, like the flickering of a fire. This form teaches combinations that are frequently seen in free-fighting.

Low Belt Testing for Cycle 4


Poomsae Taegeuk Sa Jang -- Thunder

​The fourth aspect of Taegeuk is the principle of Jin. It represents thunder, which, with lightning, evokes fear and trembling but reminds us that danger, like a thunderstorm, passes as suddenly as it comes, leaving blue sky, sunshine, and rain freshened air in its wake. The practice of this form should help one act calmly and bravely in the face of loud and terrifying dangers, real or imagined, knowing that they, too, shall pass.