High Belt Testing Cycles 

Cycle 1 High Belt Testing Requirements  (January, February, March)

Testing is usually in March

Poomsae Taegeuk (4th) Sa Jang -- Thunder

​The fourth aspect of Taegeuk is the principle of Jin. It represents thunder, which, with lightning, evokes fear and trembling but reminds us that danger, like a thunderstorm, passes as suddenly as it comes, leaving blue sky, sunshine, and rain freshened air in its wake. The practice of this form should help one act calmly and bravely in the face of loud and terrifying dangers, real or imagined, knowing that they, too, shall pass. 

Cycle 2 High Belt Testing Requirements  (April, May, June)

Testing is usually in June

Poomsae Taegeuk (5th) Oh Jang -- Wind

​The fifth aspect of Taegeuk is the principle Seon. Seon symbolizes wind. Although there are horrible and destructive winds, such as the typhoon, hurricane and tornado, the wind's true nature is gentle but penetrating. Spring breezes softly caress the willow, but the willow does not stop the wind, rather, it bends willingly in it's path. Wind symbolizes humility and good natured actions. 

Cycle 3 High Belt Testing Requirements  (July, August, September)

Testing is usually September

Poomsae Taegeuk (6th) Yuk Jang -- Flowing Water

The sixth aspect of Taegeuk is the principle Gam. Gam symbolizes water, which is liquid and formless yet never loses its nature, though it may conform to the vessel in which it finds itself. Water always flows downward and, in time, can wear away even the hardest stone. Through Gam, we learn that we can overcome every difficulty if we go forward with self-confidence and persistence, easy to bend but not to break. 

Cycle 4 High Belt Testing Requirements  (Oct-Nov-Dec)

Testing is usually in December

Poomsae Taegeuk (7th) Chil Jang -- Mountain

​The seventh form teaches us stability, to move only when necessary and then to move rapidly. In addition, we also learn to stop suddenly and solidly. It teaches commitment to motion and to immobility, we must not waver. Taegeuk Chil Jang introduces the cat stance, knee kick, crescent kick, palm heel block, knife hand low block, cross block, spread middle block and the double fist middle punch. It applies The Gan principle of Palgwe. Gan means "top stop" and symbolizes a mountain. It is male, silent and steady.